Governor Appoints Two New Members to the Alcoholic Beverage Commission

SALT LAKE CITY – Governor Gary R. Herbert has appointed Richard Sperry and Jeff Wright to fill the two vacant seats on the Alcoholic Beverage Commission.

“This is an important time for the Commission, which is responsible for overseeing the most significant alcohol reform in recent history,” Governor Herbert said. “I am confident that Richard and Jeff have the skills and experience necessary to contribute positively to this effort.”

Dr. Sperry is the Associate Vice President for Health Sciences, Academic and Clinical Affairs, at the University of Utah. He is a professor of anesthesiology at the U., as well as an adjunct professor of political science and economics.
He has served on a number of boards, including as chairman of the Utah Hospitals and Health Systems Association’s Coalition on Health Care Coverage; co-chairman of the Governor’s Task Force on the Uninsured; president of the Utah Medical Association; and chairman of the Utah State Physicians’ Licensing Board.

Dr. Sperry received his doctor of medicine degree from the University of Utah, and also has a master’s degree in economics and a doctorate degree in educational administration.

Mr. Wright is managing partner and founder of the private investment firm Actium Partners LLC and is also a founder and member of the Board of Directors of Struck/Axiom Creative Inc. He also serves as managing partner for several other companies.

He is a past chairman of the Guadalupe Schools, was on the board of directors for Utah Open Lands, the Utah Symphony and Opera and the Utah Humanities Council, and is a former trustee of Southern Utah University.
Mr. Wright graduated from the University of Utah with a bachelor’s degree in political science, and has participated in executive education programs in strategic leadership at the Said Business School at the University of Oxford and in international accounting at the London School of Economics.

The governor’s appointments are subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.