Governor Appoints New Member of Tax Commission

SALT LAKE CITY – Governor Gary R. Herbert has appointed Michael J. Cragun to serve on the State Tax Commission to replace retiring chairwoman Pam Hendrickson.

“Pam has been a dedicated public servant to the State of Utah, and has faithfully served on the Cabinet of four Governors,” Governor Herbert said. “Her contributions to tax reform in Utah have been invaluable, and she will be missed.”

Cragun served as Governor Herbert’s deputy chief of staff, during the Governor’s time as Lt. Governor of the State of Utah.

“The citizens of Utah will be well-served by having Michael as a Commissioner. His experience in state and local government, along with his discerning legal mind, will make him an excellent addition to the Tax Commission,” the Governor said.

Cragun is a former Davis County Commissioner. He has a juris doctorate from Lewis and Clark College in Portland, Ore., and an undergraduate degree from Brigham Young University.

Hendrickson was appointed to the Tax Commission in 1997 by former Gov. Michael O. Leavitt. For the past eight years, she has served as chairwoman of the four-member Commission. The governor’s appointment is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.