Governor Names Bruce Johnson as Chairman of the Tax Commission

SALT LAKE CITY – Governor Gary R. Herbert has appointed R. Bruce Johnson to serve as chairman of the Utah State Tax Commission.

Commissioner Johnson, who has served on the four-member Tax Commission since 1998, replaces retiring chairwoman Pam Hendrickson.

“Bruce’s broad knowledge of tax law and policy has earned him the respect of professionals in the private and public sectors,” the Governor said. “He is a recognized national expert on state tax policy issues, and I appreciate his willingness to serve.”

Prior to his service as a Tax Commissioner, Mr. Johnson was a partner in the law firm of Holme Roberts & Owen LLP, where he litigated state and local tax disputes. He also advised clients on state and local tax issues, tax exemption issues and issues relating to public financing. He also worked as a trial attorney for the U.S. Department of Justice’s Tax Division.

Commissioner Johnson graduated from the University of Utah with a degree in accounting and is a Certified Public Accountant. He received his law degree from Brigham  Young University, where he was a J. Reuben Clark Scholar.