Nominees Announced for Third District Court Vacancy

SALT LAKE CITY – The Third District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the district court. The vacancy results from the retirement of Judge Robert Hilder, effective August 1, 2011. The Third Judicial District includes Salt Lake, Summit and Tooele counties.
The nominees are: Michelle Blomquist, Draper, domestic relations commissioner, Third District Court; Ryan Harris, Salt Lake City, shareholder, Jones, Waldo, Holbrook & McDonough; Elizabeth Hruby-Mills, Salt Lake City, shareholder, Richards Brandt Miller Nelson; Philip Lott, Sandy, assistant attorney general, Utah Attorney General’s Office; and Todd Shaughnessy, Salt Lake City, partner, Snell & Wilmer.
Written comments can be submitted to Third District Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Gary Jubber at Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330. The deadline for written comments is 5 p.m. on April 25. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Governor Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Governor Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.