Governor Herbert Presents Awards for Excellence to State Employees, Recognizes Public Employee Appreciation Week

Salt Lake City – Twenty-seven state employees were recipients today of the Governor’s Awards for Excellence. Governor Gary R. Herbert presented the awards during a ceremony this afternoon at the Governor’s Mansion. “These outstanding employees exemplify the finest of public service and dedication to the people of Utah,” the Governor said. “Utah could not be the best managed state without your professionalism, innovation and commitment.”
The awards are an annual event to recognize the contributions of state employees in the categories of innovation and efficiency, leadership, and outstanding public service and humanitarianism. The award recipients were selected as examples of distinguished service and dedication to the citizens of Utah.
The presentation of the awards coincides with Public Employee Appreciation Week. Governor Herbert signed a declaration designating the week of May 1st – 7th as a time to show appreciation for the service provided by public employees. During the week, state agency managers took part in a variety of activities to show appreciation of state employees including taking time to work side by side with the employees as they perform their duties.
The recipients of the 2011 Governor’s Awards for Excellence are:
Innovation and Efficiency:  Data Center Consolidation Team – Department of Technology Services (Jim Matsumura, Tim Cornia, Greg Jackson, Nick Alleman); PASRR Team – Department of Human Services and Department of Technology Services (Robert Snarr, Christy Wixom, Sandra Wissa, Dwight Galloway)
Leadership:  Claire Mantonya – Department of Human Services
Outstanding Public Service:  Stephanie Lupeamanu – Department of Human Services; Chamberlin Neff (and Tank) – Department of Public Safety
Humanitarianism:  Refugee Employment Counseling Team – Department of Workforce Services (Seth Whitmill, Collins Edebiri, Lien Le, Prisca Hegngi, Rachel Lee, Deo Sharma, Mike Barnes, Ler Wah, Marta Polanco, Koffi Djagba, Kirsten Martin, Abdi Sheikh, Amy Wylie, Sara Hudgins, Nazanin Nourmohammadi); Tim Villnave – Department of Administrative Services.