Governor Names DABC Commission Chair

Salt Lake City – Today Utah Governor Gary R. Herbert named Richard J. Sperry, M.D., Ph.D., chair of the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (DABC) Commission. The five-member commission sets DABC policy, makes administrative rules, and issues and revokes licenses and permits, as well as governs staff activity and operations.
The DABC is responsible for the distribution and sale of all alcoholic beverages in Utah, with the exception of lower alcohol content “3.2%” beer.
Succeeding Sam Granato as Commission chair, Sperry is past president of the Utah Medical Association and a University of Utah Professor of Anesthesiology, Adjunct Associate Professor of Economics, Associate Vice President for Health Sciences and Director of the Matheson Center for Health Care Studies.
After medical school, Sperry served a residency and fellowship at the University of Virginia and then migrated back to the University of Utah as a faculty member. His clinical specialty is anesthesiology for neurosurgical procedures and he has graduate degree training in health care economics and policy.  
Sperry is a Salt Lake City native who has been married 31 years, with five children and one grandchild.