Governor Appoints Members to Prison Relocation and Development Authority

SALT LAKE CITY – Today Governor Gary R. Herbert appointed six members to the Prison Relocation and Develop Authority (PRADA).

“This is a diverse and independent group of well-qualified Utahns who will help ensure that any proposal to move the prison is examined thoroughly and is in the best interest of Utah and the tax payer,” said the Governor. “At the end of the day, these capable people, based on their expertise, will decide whether to recommend a proposal, or a combination of proposals, for a new prison. I look forward to their work being completed and their recommendation.”

The following have been appointed by the Governor:

Lane Summerhays – Chair of the Board, Advantage Workers Compensation Insurance Company; Board Member of Workers Compensation Fund and Continental Bank; Changing the Odds Founding Council of the United Way; and Capitol Campaign Guadalupe School

S. Camille Anthony – Associate Director, Office of Special Projects, Center for Homeland Defense & Security; Pro Tempore Member of the Utah Board of Pardons & Parole; Chair of the Utah Substance Abuse Advisory Council

Dave Luna – President, MortgageEducators and Compliance; Founder/Board Member, Honoring Heroes Foundation; former Commissioner, Utah Division of Real Estate; past Chair, Hispanic Advisory Council

Judith Atherton – Third District Court Judge; Member of the Utah Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice

Ben McAdams – Salt Lake County Mayor

Leland Pollack – Garfield County Commissioner

The Governor’s appointees will join the following legislators: Senators Steve Urquhart and Jerry Stevenson, and Representatives Eric Hutchings and Brad Wilson. The remaining appointee will be selected by the legislative body of the municipality in which the current prison is located (Draper City).

PRADA’s first meeting to initiate the process of formulating a request for proposals will be held no later than June 15, 2013, as mandated by S.B. 72, Prison Relocation and Development Amendments.