Governor Appoints Members to Executive Branch Ethics Commission

SALT LAKE CITY – Today Governor Gary R. Herbert appointed five members to the Executive Branch Ethics Commission in accordance with S.B. 86 Independent Executive Branch Ethics Commission.  S.B. 86, passed by the 2013 Legislature, created the Executive Branch Ethics Commission and requires the Governor appoint two former elected officials, one former judge and two citizens.

The Governor appointed former elected officials Val Oveson and Carol Nixon to serve two year terms. Former judge, Anthony Schofield, and citizens Corey Hodges and Lorie Fowlke were appointed to serve four year terms. Terms lengths were determined by random selection.

S.B. 86 grants the Commission investigative power to inspect complaints of high crimes, misdemeanors and malfeasance within office. The Commission can conduct investigations against the governor, lieutenant governor, attorney general, auditor and treasurer. It has subpoena power to call witnesses and produce evidence, but does not have the authority to conduct criminal investigations.

The Commission can only investigate formal complaints filed on and after May 13, 2013.