Nominees Announced for Eighth District Court Vacancies

SALT LAKE CITY – The Eighth District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for one vacancy on the district court and two vacancies on the juvenile court. The vacancies result from the establishment of two new judicial positions and the retirement of Judge Larry A. Steele from the juvenile court. The Eighth Judicial District includes Daggett, Duchesne and Uintah counties.

The nominees for the juvenile court vacancy resulting from Judge Steele’s retirement are: Samuel P. Chiara, Attorney at Law; Marea A. Doherty, Assistant Attorney General, Utah Attorney General’s Office; Michael C. Drechsel, Chief Deputy County Attorney, Uintah County Attorney’s Office; Ryan B. Evershed, Attorney, Sam, Reynolds, and Evershed; and Colin R. Winchester, Executive Director, Judicial Conduct Commission.

The nominees for the new juvenile court position are: Samuel P. Chiara; Marea A. Doherty; Michael C. Drechsel; Keith E. Eddington, Attorney at Law; and Herbert W. Gillespie, Attorney at Law.

The nominees for the new district court position are: Grant H. Charles, Deputy County Attorney, Duchesne County Attorney’s Office; Samuel P. Chiara; Keith E. Eddington; G. Mark Thomas, County Attorney, Uintah County Attorney’s Office; and Colin Winchester.

Written comments can be submitted to Eighth District Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Brad Hancock at Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330. The deadline for written comments is noon on August 7, 2013. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Governor Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Governor Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.