Nominees Announced for Fourth District Court Vacancy

SALT LAKE CITY – The Fourth District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the district court.  The vacancy results from the retirement of Judge Steven L. Hansen, effective July 1, 2014.  The Fourth Judicial District includes Juab, Millard, Utah and Wasatch counties.

The nominees for the vacancy are: Nelson Abbott, Attorney, Abbott & Associates, P.C.; Jared Eldridge, County Attorney, Juab County; Roger Griffin, Chief Litigation Officer, Gregory & Swapp; Anthony Howell, Chief Counsel, Attorney, Utah County Public Defender’s Office; Steven Killpack, Attorney, Private Law Practice.

Written comments can be submitted to the Fourth District Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Craig Carlile at or Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330.  The deadline for written comments is noon May 12, 2014.

The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments.  After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Governor Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Governor Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.