Nominees Announced for Court of Appeals Vacancy

SALT LAKE CITY — The Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the Utah Court of Appeals. The vacancy results from the resignation of Judge Carolyn B. McHugh following her confirmation as a judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.

The nominees for the vacancy are: Nicole Farrell, Shareholder, Parsons Behle & Latimer; Diana Hagen, Appellate Chief, U.S. Attorney’s Office, District of Utah; Linda M. Jones, Partner, Zimmerman Jones Booher LLC; David N. Mortensen, District Court Judge, Fourth District Court; Bridget Romano, Solicitor General, Office of the Utah Attorney General; Paula K. Smith, Deputy District Attorney, Salt Lake County District Attorney’s Office; and Kate A. Toomey, District Court Judge, Third District Court.

Written comments can be submitted to Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Kerry Gibson at Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330 or by email at The deadline for written comments is 5 p.m. on July 11, 2014. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Governor Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Governor Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.