Nominees Announced for Second District Juvenile Court Vacancy

SALT LAKE CITY – The 2nd District Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the juvenile court. The vacancy results from the death of Judge Kathleen Nelson. The 2nd Judicial District includes Davis, Morgan, and Weber counties.
The nominees for the vacant judicial position are: David Carlson, Salt Lake City, City Attorney, North Ogden; Sherene Dillon, Farmington, Attorney, Office of the Guardian ad Litem; Jann Farris, Morgan, County Attorney, Morgan County; Ryan Perkins, Farmington, Deputy County Attorney, Davis County Attorney’s Office; and Sharon Sipes, Layton, Attorney, Parental Defense Alliance.
After a 10-day public comment period, the names will be submitted to Governor Gary R. Herbert for consideration. Written comments can be submitted to 2nd District Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Robert Stott at Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330. The deadline for written comments is 5 p.m. on December 6, 2010.
The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. After the public comment period, the names will be sent to the Governor, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Governor Herbert’s appointee is then forwarded to the Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee, which reviews the appointee’s qualifications and conducts a public hearing and interview. The Senate Judicial Confirmation Committee may forward the appointee to the Utah State Senate, which has 60 days from the Governor’s appointment to confirm the appointee.