Nominees announced for Utah Supreme Court vacancy

SALT LAKE CITY – The Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the Utah Supreme Court.  The vacancy results from the retirement of Justice Ronald Nehring, effective Feb. 1, 2015.  

The nominees for the vacancy are: David Connors, Judge, Second District Court; Diana Hagen, Appellate Chief, U.S. Attorney’s Office; Royal Hansen, Judge, Third District Court; Ryan Harris, Judge, Third District Court; Deno Himonas, Judge, Third District Court; David Mortensen, Judge, Fourth District Court; Ronald Russell, Attorney, Parr Brown Gee & Loveless.

Written comments can be submitted to the Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Kerry Gibson at or Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330.  The deadline for written comments is noon Oct. 30, 2014. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Gov. Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Gov. Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.