Nominees announced for Utah Supreme Court vacancy

SALT LAKE CITY – The Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission has selected nominees for a vacancy on the Utah Supreme Court. The vacancy results from the resignation of Justice Jill Parrish, effective Aug. 16, 2015. This resignation follows her confirmation as a United States District Judge for the District of Utah.

The nominees for the vacancy are: Michele Christiansen, judge, Utah Court of Appeals; Diana Hagen, first assistant United States attorney, U.S. Attorney’s Office; Ryan Harris, judge, Third District Court; David Jordan, partner, Stoel Rives LLP; David Mortensen, judge, Fourth District Court; John Pearce, judge, Utah Court of Appeals; Amy Sorenson, partner, Snell & Wilmer LLP.

Written comments can be submitted to the Appellate Judicial Nominating Commission Chair Kerry Gibson at or Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 142330, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-2330. The deadline for written comments is noon Oct. 12, 2015. The Nominating Commission may request further information or conduct an investigation of the nominees after reviewing public comments. After the public comment period, the names will be sent to Gov. Gary R. Herbert, who will have 30 days to make an appointment. Gov. Herbert’s appointee is subject to confirmation by the Utah Senate.